Dentistry Alumni Awards

The University of Tennessee Dental Alumni Association recognizes alumni annually in three categories: Outstanding Alumnus Award, Distinguished Service Award and Recent Alumnus Award.

2024 award winners

Dentistry, Featured

Whitney Howerton, BS, MDH, RDH

2024 Recent Alumna Award Winner
Read More
Dentistry, Featured

Henry E. McKay, III, DDS

2024 Outstanding Alumnus Award Winner
Read More
Gerald Karr
Dentistry, Featured

Gerald R. Karr, DDS, MS

2024 Outstanding Alumnus Award Winner
Read More

About The awards

Outstanding Alumnus Award

The highest award given by The University of Tennessee Dental Alumni Association recognizes a graduate of The University of Tennessee College of Dentistry and member of the profession of dentistry who has distinguished himself/herself in community service, leadership, teaching, research, and/or service to the University.

submit a nomination

Distinguished Service Award

Presented annually to an alumnus who has unselfishly served the best interests of dentistry and the public in an ethical and moral fashion, including his/her dedication to community service and any other area of performance or accomplishments for which the Alumni Board of Trustees determines the candidate to be worthy.

submit a nomination

Recent Alumnus Award

Recognizes an outstanding graduate within the last 15 years whose achievements have been significant to the UT Health Science Center, to the general welfare of his/her community and to his/her profession.

Submit a nomination

past award winners bios

Dentistry, Past Winners

Joseph F. Rainey, DDS

2023 Distinguished Service Award Winner Dr. Rainey practiced general dentistry for 47 years at his private practice in Clinton, TN. In 1991, Dr. Rainey became a faculty member in the Department of General Surgery at the University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine and continues his work as an instructor to residents and students to …
Read More
Dentistry, Past Winners

Julia A. Prince, DDS

2023 Recent Alumna Award Winner Dr. Prince is a recipient of various professional awards and distinctions, including the Jack Wells Outstanding Young Dentist award in 2017 and the Tennessee Dental Association Fellowship Award in 2021. Volunteering is especially important to Dr. Prince, and she has worked with various organizations, including Mission of Mercy, Hope Smiles …
Read More
Dentistry, Past Winners

James Kendall Dillehay, DDS

2023 Outstanding Alumnus Award Winner Dr. Dillehay has received numerous awards and recognition during his career. He was presented with the prestigious Dentist of the Year Award from both the Kansas Dental Association and the Wichita District Dental Society. He was named Advocate of the Year from the American Student Dental Association. Most recently, he …
Read More

past alumni award winners

2011 Wallace Lail, DDS
2010 Tommy Roebuck, DDS
2010 Jimmy Albright, DDS
2009 John H. Sullivan, DDS
2009 James B. Summitt, DDS, M.S.
2008 William Powell, D.D.S
2008 James Vaden, DDS
2007 Harry H. Mincer, DDS
2006 J. Perry McGinnis, DDS
2005 E. Mac Edington, D.D.S
2005 Danny R. Haynes, DDS
2004 Robert L. Jolly, Sr., DDS
2003 Fayette C. Williams, Jr., DDS
2002 Morris L. Robbins, DDS
2001 Riley H. Lunn, DDS

2000 Stacey A. Garner, DDS
1999 David K. Rowe, DDS
1998 Billy W. McCann, Sr., DDS
1997 James M. Powers, DDS
1996 Curtis R. Page, DDS
1995 John R. Nelson, DDS
1994 J.D. Johnson, D.D.S
1993 Bill C. Terry, DDS
1992 Gary Rainwater, DDS
1991 James Arthur Phillips, DDS
1990 Joe Hall Morris, DDS
1989 Robert M. Williams, Sr., DDS, M.S.
1988 Major General Bill B. Lefler, DDS
1987 Robert M. Overbey, DDS
1986 Gibbs M. Prevost, Sr., DDS

1985 Kirby P. Walker, Jr., DDS
1984 Hugh Moseley, Jr., DDS
1983 E. Jeff Justis, DDS
1982 Richard J. Reynolds, DDS
1981 Harry W. Bruce, DDS
1980 Joseph W. Looper, DDS
1979 Frank H. Anderson, DDS
1978 Robert P. Denney, DDS
1977 William H. Jolley, DDS
1976 John M. Faust, DDS
1975 Herbert C. Butts, DDS
1974 Marshall W. Fortenberry, D.D.S
1973 Frank P. Bowyer, Jr., DDS
1972 Winfield C. Dunn, DDS