UTAA Outstanding Teacher Award

Each year the University of Tennessee Alumni Association (UTAA) presents the Outstanding Teacher Award, which recognizes excellence in the classroom and/or clinical instruction by full-time faculty at the UT Health Science Center. Two recipients will be recognized during the year-end meeting of the UT Alumni Association Board of Governors, and each winner will receive a $1,000 stipend. The winner will be announced at the SGAEC Awards Banquet this Spring.

Past Recipients

(Past recipients listed below are NOT eligible to receive the 2024 award.)

Mark A. Miller, PhD (Medicine)
Crystal Martin Walker, PhD, MSN-CNL, RN (Nursing)

Santosh Kumar, PhD (Pharmacy)
Penny Head, PT, MS, SCS, ATC, CSCS (Health Professions)

Sara Cross, MD (Medicine)
Tom V. Korioth, PhD, DDS (Dentistry)

Kirk E. Hevener, PharmD, PhD (Pharmacy)
Christie M. Cavallo, MSN, RN, CNEcl, EdDc (Nursing)

Vinay Jain, BDS, MS, MDS (Dentistry)
Jacen S. Maier-Moore, PhD, MA, MT (ASCP) (Health Professions)

Christopher Jackson, MD, FACP, FSSCI (Medicine)
Jacqueline Sharp, DNP, APRN, PMHNP-BC (Nursing)

Mark Hedrick, PhD (Health Professions)
Brandon Hawkins, PharmD, BCIDP, AAHIVP (Pharmacy)