Medicine Alumni Awards

The UTHSC College of Medicine Alumni Council recognizes alumni in two categories: Outstanding Alumnus Award and Recent Alumnus Award.

2023 award winners

Richard Dew
Featured, Medicine

Richard Dew, MD ’65

2023 Outstanding Alumnus Award Winner
Read More
Catherine Womack
Featured, Medicine

Catherine Robilio Womack, MD ’95

2023 Outstanding Alumna Award Winner
Read More
Nelson Strother
Featured, Medicine

E. Nelson Strother

2023 Honorary Alumni Council Member
Read More

About The awards

Outstanding Alumnus Award

The Outstanding Alumnus Award will not be limited to those in active medical practice, and will recognize a member of the medical profession who has distinguished himself/herself in the areas of:

submit a nomination

Recent Alumnus Award

Recognizes an outstanding graduate within the last 10 years whose achievements have been significant to the UT Health Science Center, to the general welfare of his/her community and to his/her profession.

Submit a nomination

past award winners bios

Medicine, Past Winners

K. Elliot Tenpenny, MD ’09

2022 Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award Winner
Read More
Medicine, Past Winners

Ryan D. Mire, MD ’98, FACP

2022 Outstanding Alumnus Award Winner
Read More
Medicine, Past Winners

Stewart Edwards “Ed” Dismuke, MD ’71, MSPH

2022 Outstanding Alumnus Award Winner
Read More

past alumni award winners

James C. Fleming ’74, MD
Ann McGuire ’72, MD
Phyllis E. Miller ’62, MD
Jesse C. Woodall ’64, Jr., MD, FACOG, FACS

Henry Cheairs Farrar ’54, MA, MD, FACS, LLD
James Netterville ’80, MD
David Sisk ’61, MD
Douglas Wilson ’64, MD, FAAP

Robert G. Demos, MD
A. Richard Grossman, MD
Robert A. Kerlan, MD, FACP
Randal S. Weber, MD, FACS

Garland Douglas Anderson, MD
Rufus R. Clifford, Jr., MD
John McIver Hodges, MD
Labe C. Scheinberg, MD

Terry Canale, MD
Edwin H. Cocke, Jr., MD
George W. Hansberry, MD
Alan S. Gubin, MD

Charles Edward Allen, MD
Robert E. Tooms, MD
Lawrence D. Wruble, MD